All I Wanted Was Not SPICY Chicken!!

Posted on

Got a good story from my Senior High School class the other day.

These kids are always curious to hear about their teacher’s lives. So, I decided to tell them the story about the first time I ordered from an “All-Chinese” menu..

It was one of the most well-executed stories I ever told.

I somehow managed to catch their attention very quickly. And, the story was building towards its thrilling climax at just the right pace.

That was when I decided to stand up on the chair in front of my desk to finish off the ending to this story.

While standing in the front of the room on top of a 3 foot high chair, I happened to notice my boss walking into the room for the first time since I started teaching there.

With all 42 pairs of eyes locked in on me standing on top of this chair, there was really point in holding back now that the “boss man” was there.

I also don’t have the ability to ask him what he wants and get right back into “game mode.”

The catch is that this was the part of the story that you ABSOLUTELY would not want somebody to only hear this part.

I had already told them them I was really struggling to order my “not SPICY chicken” in Chinese and I was getting quite angry.

With the boss man looking, that was when I offered up a very animated version of how I acted out the word chicken by flapping my arms like wings and chanting “Bak Bak Bak, CHICKEN!!”

Considering all 42 kids were laughing hysterically, I decided to go with another round of even louder and more obnoxious “bak bak bak’s.”

Let’s not also forget that my face was already natural bright-red from last weekend’s sunburn, and I am notoriously known for a vein the size of an apple popping out of my forehead when I am excited.

I really just did not even care that he was standing 10 feet away from me and I am supposed to “act normal” as the teacher.

My boss, John, is one of the nicest people I have met in Taiwan. He just pretended like it didn’t even happen.

I mean, really, what could you say?? ha ha…

Leave a Reply

